Lord, I’m Yours (July 19, 2013)

Romans 6:15-19  What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? May it never be!  Do you not know that when you present yourselves to someone as slaves for obedience, you are slaves of the one whom you obey, either of sin resulting in death, or of obedience resulting in righteousness? 

But thanks be to God that though you were slaves of sin, you became obedient from the heart to that form of teaching to which you were committed, and having been freed from sin, you became slaves of righteousness.  I am speaking in human terms because of the weakness of your flesh. For just as you presented your members as slaves to impurity and to lawlessness, resulting in further lawlessness, so now present your members as slaves to righteousness, resulting in sanctification.

Being dead to sin is not all there is to living the Christian life.  God doesn’t want us to spend the rest of our life focused on our sin.  That is why He offers us grace.  He has freed us from the power of sin.  Even so, we will always be a slave to someone or something whether it be to sin or to righteousness.

“A slave of righteousness is a person who has as his or her consuming desire, doing what the Master wants.”¹

How do you know if you are a slave to righteousness?

  1. You will be acutely aware of unrighteousness in yourself.
  2. You will be unable to ignore sin and have to make things right.
  3. You will constantly wonder if you are pleasing Jesus.²

If you want to change, you can’t just be dead to sin.  You have to present yourself to God as His servant and become alive in Christ.  Change does not happen in a moment.  It is choice by choice, act by act, day by day.

Father God,
I praise You today for Christ’s victory over my sin.  I confess that I haven’t been experiencing that victory, and I apologize for that.  In this moment, I am turning my life over to You.  As best I can, I will seek to live the truth that I am Yours.  Thank You for making this possible. Amen.

[Read Colossians 1-4]

Colossians 1:6 This same Good News that came to you is going out all over the world.  It is bearing fruit everywhere by changing lives, just as it changed your lives from the day you first heard and understood the truth about God’s wonderful grace.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev. ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 140

²James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev. ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 142

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

