Step Two: Now I Can Choose (July 17, 2013)

Romans 6:1-7  What shall we say then? Are we to continue in sin so that grace may increase?  May it never be! How shall we who died to sin still live in it? Or do you not know that all of us who have been baptized into Christ Jesus have been baptized into His death?  Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.  For if we have become united with Him in the likeness of His death, certainly we shall also be in the likeness of His resurrection, knowing this, that our old self was crucified with Him, in order that our body of sin might be done away with, so that we would no longer be slaves to sin; for he who has died is freed from sin.

In Romans 6, Paul explains in no uncertain terms that in Christ we are dead to sin.  That doesn’t mean we can’t sin or won’t sin.  Nor does it mean we will cast off our old nature.  We will still be inclined to sin.  It means that because of Christ, you are dead to the power of sin.

“…will You begin to accept by faith that because of your union with Christ, more specifically with Christ’s death, that the power of sin is broken in your life and you can choose victory instead of failure and defeat?”¹

Being dead to sin is part of God’s transforming work in your life.  God’s grace demands that we change Christ’s death gave us victory.  Thanks to God’s grace and Christ’s victory over sin.  We do not have to give in to the demands of sin any longer.

Father God,
Thank You for sending Your Son to die in my place.  Thank You for Your grace and forgiveness.  I don’t want to use Your grace to keep on sinning.  I have, and I apologize for that.  Please forgive me.  I accept, as truth, that You see me as connected with the death and resurrection of Your Son whether I feel it or not.  I believe that the power of sin is broken in my life.  Lord, thank You that I can change. With Your help, I can be different.  Help me live out this truth.  As I come to that critical fork in the road where I would choose to live a certain way–the way I have always chosen–help me to believe that I can choose differently with Your help. With Your help, I am going to choose what is right.  By faith, I thank You that the power of sin is broken in my life.  I claim Your victory so You would be glorified in me.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

[Read Ephesians 1-6]

Ephesians 2:10 For we are God’s masterpiece.  He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev. ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 105.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

