Step One: Repentance (July 16, 2013)

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us.

If you truly desire to change, you must repent.  The Old Testament is full of prophets preaching repentance, and John the Baptist’s only sermon was “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand” (Matthew 3:2).

God’s passion is transformation.  His heart is repentance.  Repentance is where true transformation begins.

“The degree to which we are truly aware of the continual draw of sin in our lives will be measured by the way in which we live in continual repentance, tender toward God.”¹

If you have truly repented, there will be no rationalization, genuine sorrow (not regret), confession of sin, and getting right with others (restitution).

Father God,
Today I am seeking repentance regarding the specific things You are asking me to change.  I ask You to grant me genuine repentance.  I ask for Your forgiveness for rationalizing and blaming others.  I acknowledge that I have no praises for my areas of failure.  I am asking for an awareness of sin and a willingness to repent in areas where I have been resistant in the past.  In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

[Read Galatians 1-6]

Galatians 1:3-5 May God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ give you grace and peace.  Jesus gave his life for our sins, just as God our Father planned, in order to rescue us from this evil world in which we live.  All glory to God forever and ever. Amen.

 

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me“, rev.ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 82

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

