Let’s Get Specific (July 15, 2013)

Philippians 1:6 And I am certain that God, who began a good work in you, will continue his work until it is finally finished on the day Christ Jesus returns.

In order for change to occur, we have to know what it is that needs to be changed.  With God’s help, we must identify the specific sins that need to go and the good things that need to be added.

Five steps to define what God is working on in you:¹

1) Ask God in faith for wisdom to know what needs to be changed.
James 1:2-7 Consider it all joy, my brethren, when you encounter various trials, knowing that the testing of your faith produces endurance.  And let endurance have its perfect result, so that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. But if any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all generously and without reproach, and it will be given to him.  But he must ask in faith without any doubting, for the one who doubts is like the surf of the sea, driven and tossed by the wind.  For that man ought not to expect that he will receive anything from the Lord

2) Review biblical lists for attitudes and behaviors to change.
Ephesians 4:22, 24 that, in reference to your former manner of life, you lay aside the old self, which is being corrupted in accordance with the lusts of deceit, … and put on the new self, which in the likeness of God has been created in righteousness and holiness  of the truth.

Galatians 5:16-21  But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not carry out the desire of the flesh. For the flesh sets its desire against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh ; for these are in opposition to one another, so that you may not do the things that you please.  But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the Law. Now the deeds of the flesh are evident which are: immorality, impurity, sensuality, idolatry, sorcery, enmities, strife, jealousy, outbursts of anger, disputes,dissensions, factions, envying, drunkenness, carousing, and things like these, of which I forewarn you, just as I have forewarned you, that those who practice such things will not inherit the kingdom of God.

3)  Isolate your own areas of need.

4)  Confess your sin to a friend.
James 5:16 Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed. The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.

5)  Express to the Lord your willingness to change.
1 John 5:14-15  Therefore, confess your sins to one another, and pray for one another so that you may be healed.  The effective prayer of a righteous man can accomplish much.

Change is s step-by-step process.  It happens one adjustment at a time.  We must persevere and endure.  It is important to realize that we are in partnership with God–He does His part and we do ours.

Father God,
Thank You for persistently pursuing my transformation.  I know You love me and have my best interest at heart so I come to You in faith, completely willing to get specific.  Please reveal to me the things You want to change in me next.  Nothing is off-limits.  Lord, I want to be the person You created me to be, and I’m ready to work.  Please be specific with me by Your Holy Spirit. In Jesus’ Name. Amen.

[Read 2 Corinthians 8-13]

2 Corinthians 13:5 Examine yourselves to see if your faith is genuine.  Test yourselves. Surely you know that Jesus Christ is among you; if not, you have failed the test of genuine faith.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev.ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002), pp. 65-75

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

