Take Out the Garbage (July 13, 2013)

Romans 7:24-25 Oh, what a miserable person I am! Who will free me from this life that is dominated by sin and death? Thank God! The answer is in Jesus Christ our Lord.  So you see how it is:  In my mind I really want to obey God’s law, but because of my sinful nature I am a slave to sin.

In “Lord Change Me“, James MacDonald names six faulty methods we turn to in order to bring about change in our lives.  Even though some of these ways mention God, they don’t include Him.

The answer to change is simple:

  1. Admit that the problem lies within yourself; and
  2. Turn to God realizing that He is the only one who can change your heart.

In the past, I have used several of the faulty methods.  My favorite method was changing my environment–particularly job.  Sometimes I realized it was me, but other times, I blamed the job, my boss, or my co-workers.  Looking back, I can see it was my problem and I never turned to god to fix the problem inside of me.

If I continue to use faulty methods to change, I will always fail. “When we pursue God’s plan for change, it always works.”¹

Father God,
I admit that I am not as much like Jesus as I should be.  The problem is me–not my spouse, my children, my job.  I am asking You to change me.  Lord, change me.  I can’t do it alone.  Please forgive me for blaming others and for trying to change in my own strength apart from You.  Change me.  I’m asking in Jesus’ Name. Amen.

[Read 1 Corinthians 9-16]

1 Corinthians 15:58 So, my dear brothers and sisters, be strong and immovable.  Always work enthusiastically for the Lord, for you know that nothing you do for the Lord is ever useless.

 

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me” rev.ed. (Chicago, Illinois, Moody Publishers, 2002), p. 20.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

