‘Lord Change Me’ : Introduction (July 12, 2013)

John 8:32 “And you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.”

I want to change.  I don’t want to dream about it, think about it or talk about it.  I’m seeking real change. I want to do something–whatever is necessary.  I don’t want to change anyone else. I want to become different as soon as possible, and I want to change according to God’s Word.

Lord Change Me” by James MacDonald (see my review) is a 10-chapter study of hour-long sessions that shows you how to change.  It will not show you what you need to change.  If you don’t already know, this book is not for you.

“Change requires the elimination of character traits and patterns of behavior that are doing damage to my life and those around me.” ¹

[Read 1 Corinthians 1-8]

1 Corinthians 1:9 God will do this, for he is faithful to do what he says, and he has invited you into partnership with his Son, Jesus Christ, our Lord.

Father God,
Thank You for loving me in spite of my performance.  Thank You for loving me when I do wrong and forgive me for using Your love and forgiveness as an excuse to continue sinning.  Create hope in my heart that you truth will change me.  Give me wisdom as I apply Your truth to my life and make changes.  I want (truly desire) the true life change and lasting joy You promise to those who obey Your Word.  I am asking this in the transforming power of Jesus. Amen.

¹James MacDonald, “Lord Change Me“, rev. ed. (Chicago, IL, Moody Publishers, 2002) p. 10

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Lord Change Me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

