Pressing Toward the Mark (July 11, 2013

1 Corinthians 15:49 “Just as we have borne the image of the earthy, we shall also bear the image of the heavenly.”

For the past 12 weeks, I have been on a journey.  A journey learning about the mind of Christ and how to be a better Christian.  Conforming to the image of Christ is a process we will never perfect this side of heaven.  Throughout the study of “The Mind of Christ”, I have studied, the virtues of godly wisdom, the fruit of the Spirit, the servant mind, the Beatitudes, how to express emotions like Jesus did, how Jesus related to things and people, how Jesus related to the Father and the Holy Spirit, Christ’s use of the Scriptures and prayer, the character and behavior of holiness and the actions of Christlike love.

Becoming like Christ requires:

  1. Praying with Jesus.
  2. Listening to Jesus’ instruction and guidance.
  3. Reading God’s Word to learn more about Jesus’ purposes and ways.
  4. Meditating on Christ and His work as your model.

How to Pray for the Bride of Christ–the Church–

  • Ask God to purge from the church all sin, and to ready the church for her glorious Bridegroom.
  • Pray that the various leaders of your church turn first to Christ for their direction.
  • Ask the Lord to purify your worship so that only God will be glorified and Christ will be exalted.
    {pp. 220-221, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

The following prayer is taken from the closing prayer on p. 221 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“:

Father God,
I more clearly see now that Jesus was Your method of Self-revelation.  In knowing Him, I know You and understand Your ways and nature.  With all my heart, I thank You for revealing Yourself to us so clearly.  I understand that all revelation is summarized in the Person of Christ.

Because You want me to, I want to live His life today.  Through Him, You are bringing many children to glory.  I have begun a process.  I ask You to carry that process through to the final glory You have for me, and pledge to work with You in accomplishing this Your purpose.

I make Him absolute Lord of my life.  I will not question Your directives through Him, for He is my Master.

I love You very much, and I love Your Only Begotten Son.  With all the adoration possible to me at this stage of my growth, I love You with my whole being.  I commit myself to let You perfect fully all that You intend to finish in me.

In Jesus’ Name, I am Yours. Amen.

 

[Read Mark 14-16]

Mark 15:39 When the  Roman officer who stood facing him saw how he had died, he exclaimed, “This man truly was the Son of God!”

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

