Names of Christ, Part 1 (July 8, 2013)

Luke 1:78-79  “Because of God’s tender mercy, the morning light from heaven is about to break upon us, to give light to those who sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, and to guide us to the path of peace.”

Deity Names (Referred to as God)

  • Creator (Colossians 1:16)
  • Truth (John 14:6)
  • Mighty God (Isaiah 9:6)
  • Son of God (John 1:49)
  • Holy One of God (Luke 4:34)
  • Lord from Heaven (1 Corinthians 15:47)
  • Image of the Invisible God (Colossians 1:15)
  • Emmanuel [God with us] (Matthew 1:23)

Functioning Names (Indicates ways Jesus functions on our behalf)

  • Deliverer (Romans 11:26)
  • He that Sanctifieth (Hebrews 2:11)
  • Shepherd and Bishop [Guardian of your souls] (1 Peter 2:25)
  • Saviour of the World (John 4:42)
  • Wonderful Counselor (Isaiah 9:6)

Light Names (Jesus is the True Light)

  • Dayspring [Sunrise] (Luke 1:78)
  • Light of Life (John 8:12)
  • Light of Men (John 1:4)
  • Day Star (2 Peter 1:19)
  • Light to lighten the Gentiles (Luke 2:32)
  • Light of the World (John 8:12)

(pp. 209-210, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“)

Take a few minutes to praise and worship Christ as your Lord and Savior, acknowledging who He is and thanking Him for everything He has done and continues to do for you.

[Read Mark 4-6]

Mark 4:21 Then Jesus asked them, “Would anyone light a lamp and then put it under a basket or under a bed? Of course not! A lamp is placed on a stand, where its light will shine.”

Emmanuel, Christ, my Lord,
How I praise You for who You are.  I praise You for coming to earth to dwell among men in order to save me.  I don’t understand the reasons You have for choosing to live inside of me, but I am glad You did.  I enjoy Your presence and Your fellowship.  Shine in me and through me to reveal Your light to those who live in darkness.  Guide my feet in the ways of peace. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

