Christ’s Offices–Prophet, Priest and King (July 7, 2013)

*Jesus Is Prophet
Acts 3:22, 26 “A prophet shall the Lord your God raise up unto you of your brethren, like unto me [Moses]; Him shall ye hear in all things whatsoever he shall say unto you.  Unto you first god, having raised up his Son Jesus, sent him to bless you, in turning away every one of you from his iniquities.”

Jesus’ goal while He lived on earth was to bless us and turn us away from our iniquities.

*Jesus Is Priest
Hebrews 9:11-12 So Christ has now become the High Priest over all the good things that have come.  He has entered that greater, more perfect Tabernacle in heaven, which was not made by human hands and is not part of this created world.  With his own blood–not the blood of goats and calves–he entered the Most Holy Place once for all time and secured our redemption forever.  

Today, Jesus has two primary functions:  (1) With Jesus as our Intercessor, we know that God hears our prayers; and (2) As our Mediator, He gave us a new covenant relationship with God.

*Jesus Is King 
Revelation 19:16 “And he hath on his vesture and on his thigh a name written, KING OF KINGS, AND LORD OF LORDS.” 

The future work of Jesus will come to pass when every knee bows and every tongue confesses that Jesus is KING OF KINGS and LORD OF LORDS.

The Creed of the New Testament Church– “That Jesus Christ is Lord”

  • Because Jesus is a Prophet, I listen to His Word.
  • Because Jesus is a Priest, I believe Him.
  • Because Jesus is King, I obey Him. I acknowledge Jesus’ total lordship over every area of my life.

{p. 208 “The Mind of Christ“}

[Read Mark 1-3]

Mark 1:7-8 John announced:  “Someone is coming soon who is greater than I am–so much greater than I’m not even worthy to stoop down like a slave and until the straps of his sandals.  I baptize you with water, but he will baptize you with the Holy Spirit!”

Father God,
Jesus has done and is doing more than I understand.  I thank You for the privilege of being a part of Your family–chosen by You.  Draw me to Yourself in worship today.  Teach me what You mean by worshiping in spirit and truth.
Jesus Christ is Lord and I acknowledge Your lordship over every area of my life. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

