Love as a Noun (July 5, 2013)

1 John 4:12 No one has ever seen God.  But if we love each other, God lives in us, and his love is brought to full expression in us.

“Love as a verb is an act of the will and requires doing. Love as a noun is a fruit of the indwelling Spirit and requires being.”  {p. 199, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

There are two ingredients of love which we can introduce into our will:

1)   Yearning.  We must yearn for God as He yearns for us.  We yearn to fellowship with Him and become like Him. (Matthew 5:6)

“Yearning is the culmination of God’s work through us in circumstances that produce poverty of spirit, brokenness, and meekness–the first group of Beatitudes.” {p. 201, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

2)  Identification.  We are to identify ourselves with Christ. (Matthew 11:29-30)

“Identification is the culmination of the work of the second group of Beatitudes–showing mercy, becoming pure, and making peace.” {p. 201, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read Matthew 23-25]

Matthew 25:34-35 “Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared by you from the creation of the world.  For I was hungry, and you fed me.  I was thirty, and you give me a drink.  I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home.”

The following prayer is adapted from a prayer on page 201 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“:

Father God,
I cannot merely concentrate on holiness.  If I do, I will pervert its purity and separation.  I cannot concentrate on love alone.  If I do, impure elements will dilute it.  The holiness I seek is like that of Jesus, perfectly coordinated with love.  The only love I must have is that which is modified by holiness.  Make me like Christ.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

