The Character and Behavior of Holiness (July 2, 2013)

2 Peter 3: 14  “Be diligent that ye may be found of him in peace, without spot, and blameless.”

Character of Holiness

Purity–innocent, stainless, uncontaminated
Isaiah 52:11 “Depart, depart, go out from there, touch nothing unclean; go out of the midst of her, purify yourselves, you who carry the vessels of the Lord.”

Godliness–holy conduct and reverence
2 Peter 3:11-12 “Seeing then that all those things shall be dissolved, what manner of persons ought ye to be in all holy conversation and godliness, looking for and hasting unto the coming of the day of God.”

Glorious–brilliantly beautiful or magnificent, entitled to great renown
John 17:4 “I brought glory to you here on earth by completing the work you gave me to do.”

Behavior of Holiness

Separate (set apart from the world)
2 Timothy 2:21 If you keep yourself pure, you will be a special utensil for honorable use.  Your life will be clean, and you will be ready for the Master to use you for every good work.

Dedicate (set aside for one use only)
2 Chronicles 2:4  “Behold, I am about to build a house for the name of the Lord my God, dedicating it to Him.”

Sanctify (to render holy)
John 17:19 “And I give myself as a holy sacrifice for them so they can be made holy by your truth.”

“Because Jesus loves us, He wants us to be holy.  Once again, holiness and love cannot be separated.” {p. 192, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read Matthew 13-16]

Matthew 16:24  Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.”

Father God,
You have told us in Your Word that Jesus is coming again and will judge the world.  This evil world will be destroyed by fire.  Since that is true, I want to live my life in holiness, godliness and purity.  I long for Christ’s return.  Enable to me to live an exemplary life until He returns. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

