Reconciling Holiness and Love (July 1, 2013)

1 Thessalonians 3:12-13 The Lord makes you to increase and abound in love one toward another, and toward all men, even as we do toward you: To the end he may establish your hearts unblameable in holiness before God, even our Father, at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ with all his saints.

It is hard to understand how the God we see in the Old Testament is the same God revealed in the New Testament.  On the one hand, we see a God of justice, who is holy and distant.  On the other, we see a God of love, grace and mercy, who is trying to get close to us.

“Nothing shows us God’s holiness like Calvary.  Because of sin, nothing less than Christ’s shed blood on the cross could satisfy the requirements of God’s awesome holiness.  Nothing shows us how great God’s love is like the sacrifice of Christ.” [p. 188, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read Matthew 10-12]

Matthew 12:35 “A good person produces good things from the treasury of a good heart, and an evil person produces evil things from the treasury of our evil heart.”

Father God,
I am not worthy to stand in Your presence.  I need Your cleansing.  Because You are love, I plead for Your mercy and forgiveness.  Wash me so that I may be clean and spotless before You.  Make me holy as You are holy. Teach me to love as You love. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

