Christ, The Scriptures, and Prayer (June 29, 2013)

Jesus’ Use of Scripture

Luke 24:32 “They said to one another, Did not our heart burn within us, while he talked with us by the way, and while he opened to us the Scriptures?”

“Jesus revered the Scripture, based His actions on scriptural precedent, justified His actions with it, and even used it to point to the great consummation in His second coming.” {p. 182, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

If Jesus placed such emphasis on Scripture, we should read, meditate on and study the Bible in order to have the mind of Christ.

Jesus’ Practice of Prayer

Hebrews 5:7 “He offered up both prayers and supplications with loud crying and tears to One able to save Him from death, and He was heard because of His piety.”

“Since the spiritual world dominates the material world, prayer is a decisive factor in the life of a spiritual person.” {p. 182, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Jesus taught the disciples how to pray using the Lord’s Prayer.  There are five components:

  • Confession: Don’t enter God’s presence without being cleansed from sin
  • Praise:  God deserves to be honored for who He is
  • Thanksgiving:  Be specific. Thank God for His abundance
  • Petition:  Allow God to show You what to ask for
  • Intercession:  Pray for others according to God’s will

[Read Matthew 4-6]

Matthew 6:7-8 “When you pray, don’t babble on and on as people of other religions do.  They think their prayers are answered merely by repeating their words again and again.  Don’t be like them, for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him!”

Father God,
Stir my heart by opening to me the Scriptures as You did to the disciples.  I long to know more about You and what You have to say to me through Your Word.  Open my mind and give me understanding.  Teach me how to relate to Your Word and pray in ways that will please You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

