Christ and the Holy Spirit (June 28, 2013)

Matthew 12:31-32 “So I tell you, every sin and blasphemy can be forgiven–except blasphemy against the Holy Spirit, which will never be forgiven.  Anyone who speaks against the Son of Man can be forgiven, but anyone who speaks against the Holy Spirit will never be forgiven, either in this world or the world to come.”

“Jesus had a special jealousy for the Spirit, and strongly forbade blaspheming the Holy Spirit.  He had the highest regard for the Spirit, depended on the Spirit, and followed the Spirit, and followed the Spirit closely throughout His life.  This is the mind of Christ.” {p. 180 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

The Holy Spirit is the least understood of the Trinity.  We talk of being filled with the Spirit, controlled by the Spirit, and led by the Spirit.  Theology differs among denominations.  We get a glimpse of the power of the Spirit in the Old Testament even though the Spirit didn’t take up residence inside a person until after the resurrection of Jesus.  In Acts 2, when the people are filled with the Spirit, it is described as a tongue of fire and we see what we are capable of when we are controlled by the Spirit.

The Old and New Testament events show us the importance of respecting the Holy Spirit.  The Spirit convicts us when we sin, comforts us when we are grieving, and teaches us when we are confused.  Jesus warned us to be careful how we treat the Spirit.  It is so important that even our very soul depends on it.

[Read Matthew 1-3]

Matthew 3:16 After his baptism, as Jesus came up out of the water, the heavens were opened and he saw the Spirit of God descending like a dove and settling on him.

Father God,
I am thankful that Jesus did not leave us without a comforter–the Holy Spirit.  I realize that I have probably never experienced the fullness of Your Spirit the way You have intended.  Please fill me with the Spirit and help me walk in the Spirit.  This is my desire.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

