Christ and the Father (June 27, 2013)

1 John 3:1 “Behold, what manner of love the Father hath bestowed upon us, that we should be called the sons of God.”

“The Father does not give us permission to set our own agendas.  He does not adjust to us.  God is the one working, and He invites us to become involved in His work.” {p 178, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

In addition to coming to earth to save us, Jesus also came to demonstrate the heart of God and what we should be doing while we are here.  We can follow Jesus’ pattern for identifying with the Father in four ways:

  • His works–reaching out to the poor, the hurting, the needy (John 5:19)
  • His words–simple and direct (Matthew 5:37); gracious (Colossians 4:6); purposeful (Matthew 12:36); and exemplary (1 Timothy 4:12)
  • His possessions–Christ’s possessions are ours (Romans 8:17)
  • Unity (John 17:21-23)

[Read John 19-21]

John 21:25 Jesus also did many other things.  If they were all written down, I suppose the whole world could not contain the books that would be written.

Father God,
You have shown me great love by adopting me into Your family.  Thank You for sending Jesus as a sacrifice for my sins.  I want to have a deeper, more personal love relationship with You.  Teach me how to respond to You in a proper relationship.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

