The Spiritual Controls the Material (June 25, 2013)

John 8:23  Jesus continued, “You are from below; I am from above.  You belong to this world; I do not.”

If we are to become like Christ, we must focus more on the spiritual aspect of our lives rather than the material.  Satan manipulates us into putting our focus where it doesn’t belong–career, house, even ministry–so that we miss Christ’s purposes.

“The goodness of the material is at its best when it serves spiritual purposes.” {p. 174, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Three ways to express the importance of the spiritual:

  1. Go without doing normal activities in order to accomplish spiritual goals
  2. Fast (deny food to your body).  Use the time you would spend eating to pray.
  3. Give. Generosity demonstrates the value you place on the spiritual.

If the world has you its grip too tight, try doing the following:

  • Set your mind on things above
  • Allow God to renew your mind
  • Deny yourself those worldly things that have you in their grip
  • Follow Christ’s example in giving priority to spiritual matters
  • Ask God to help you.

{p. 175, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read John 13-15]

John 15:19 “The world would love you as one of its own if you belonged to it, but you are no longer part of the world.  I chose you to come out of the world, so it hates you.”

The following prayer was adapted from the prayer on page 175 of “The Mind of Christ Workbook“:

Father God,
I want to see life as You see it.  Give me spiritual perception.  Through Your Spirit, give me the spiritual energy to follow and do all you want me to do.  The worldly and the material have a strong influence on my life.  Teach me to give the priority to the spiritual like You do.  Cleanse me from the contamination of the world and make me without blemish or spot.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

