Jesus’ Speech (June 23, 2013)

1 Peter 2:2-24 “Who [Christ] did no sin, neither was guile found in his mouth: Who, when he was reviled, reviled not again; when he suffered, he threatened not; but committed himself to him that judgeth righteously:  Who his own self bare our sins in his own body on the tree, that we, being dead to sins, should live unto righteousness: by whose stripes ye were healed.”

Jesus always spoke wisely.  The two main ways He used speech was to teach, either conceptually or through parables, and to preach the gospel.  Even though there were people who ridiculed  and tested Him, Jesus exercised self-control and did not give in to the temptation to sin.  Jesus also answered questions, issued warnings, reproached unresponsive people, denounced hypocrisy, and gave assurances not to be afraid.  But He never spoke a careless word.

“Having the mind of Christ, we are to be careful and appropriate in our use of words.” {p. 167, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read John 7-9]

John 7:18 Those who speak for themselves want glory only for themselves, but a person who seeks to honor the one who sent him speaks truth, not lies.

Father God,
I confess that I have trouble controlling my speech.  I ask you to continue Your work of developing my temperance and self-control regarding my tongue.  Help me listen more than I talk and to speak only that which is true and wholesome.  Enable me to reflect You in the way I speak.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

