Jesus’ Friendship (June 22, 2013)

John 15:13-15 “Greater love hath no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.  Ye are my friends, if ye do whatsoever I command you.  Henceforth I call you not servants; for the servant knoweth not what his lord doeth: but I have called you friends; for all things that I have heard of my Father I have made known unto you.”

The supreme expression of love is the giving of one’s life for one’s friends.  Jesus was the demonstration of God’s love when He submitted to crucifixion and death on a cross so that we who believed in Him could have eternal life.  If we love the Lord, we will be obedient and do what He asks.  If we want to be someone’s friend, we will not do things against their wishes.  If we are not going to do those things that please our friends, there is no reason for us to be friends.  If we are friends, our friend will not treat us as a servant.  If they do, we are not truly friends.

“When Jesus moved from a master-slave relationship with His disciples to a Friend-friend relationship, He revealed to them the will and heart of His Father.” {p. 165, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read John 4-6]

John 4:14:  “But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again.  It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”

Father God,
I am grateful for Jesus’ friendship.  I am glad that He chose to be friends with sinners.  As I study Your Word, help me identify the things You desire of me so I may obey.  I yearn for fellowship with You.  I open my life and invite you to come in and fellowship with me.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

