Trusting God’s Provision (June 20, 2013)

Hebrews 11:6 “But without faith it is impossible to please him:  for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.”

Jesus lived a life of faith.  He had no reason to doubt God. Neither do we.  Even as God provides for the birds and clothes the grass.  he will provide for our needs–food, drink, clothing–the only condition is that we seek first the Kingdom of God and have faith in God.  Two tasks which are difficult, yet not impossible.

“Worry is pointless in view of God’s care and provision for His children.” {p. 162, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Worrying about things we have no control over does more harm than good.  In addition to the effect on our health, it has spiritual side effects, too.  Worry shows God how little faith we have in His ability.  If we tell others of our belief in a God who does the impossible yet we do not believe He can do it for us, what good are our words?  We must live out the faith we talk about.

[Read Luke 22-24]

Luke 22:35 Then Jesus asked them, “When I sent you out to preach the Good News and you did not have money, a traveler’s bag, or an extra  pair of sandals, did you need anything?”
“No,” they replied.

Father God,
I pray that You will enable me to follow Your leadership so that even the gates of hell will not prevail against Your church.  I pledge my allegiance to You.  Give me such confidence in Your provision that I will not worry about tomorrow.  Give me the faith to trust You to provide. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

