Jesus and Materialism (June 19, 2013)

Luke 12:15 “Take heed, and beware of covetousness: for a man’s life consisteth not in the abundance of the things which he possesseth.”

Jesus taught that our true riches are located in heaven.  Storing up wealth on earth is useless and leads to idolatry.  The rich young ruler’s refusal to let go of his wealth must have saddened Jesus just as He is saddened by our clutching to the treasures of this world.  To have the mind of Christ means putting God before everything in the world.

“Money can become a powerful god that demands allegiance in a subtle but effective way.  The mind of Christ allows involvement with money, but warns us that it can be dangerous.  Money itself is neither good nor evil and can be used for worldly purposes or for God.  We must be wise and heavenly-minded in its use.  We must be ready to give as faithful stewards of God’s resources.” {p. 160 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read Luke 19-21]

Luke 20:25 “Well then,” he said, “give to Caesar what belongs to Caesar, and give to God what belongs to God.”

Father God,
I confess that I live like a poor person rather than like an heir to the Kingdom.  I haven’t learned to understand and appreciate the riches and treasures You make available to me.  I have far too much attachment to worldly things. Teach me to deny myself and give up ownership of my things.  I want to be completely free from attachments to things so I may follow Christ’s example. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

