Controlling Emotional Impulses (June 16, 2013)

Romans 12:2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think.  Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.

“The greatest danger for those of us who want the mind of Christ is acting from impulse.” {p. 151 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Jesus never expressed doubt, pessimism, discouragement, cynicism, suspicion, gloom or worry.  His example of the positive and negative emotions He expressed reveal to us that emotions are normal; however, He was not impulsive.

“God reserves the expression of His emotions for those times when we need to know the significance of His holiness.” {p. 151, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

If an emotion appears suddenly, it is almost always negative and is the hardest to control.  We tend to act before we think.

[Read Luke 10-12]

Luke 11:36 “If you are filled with light, with no dark corners, then your whole life will be radiant, as though a floodlight were filling you with light.”

Father God,
I get myself into trouble because of my emotional impulses which are uncontrollable at times.  Teach me from Jesus’ example how to express my emotions correctly.  I want to honor You and shine as a light in a world of darkness. Thank You. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

