Jesus’ Positive Emotions (June 15, 2013)

John 3:34-35 “A new commandment I give unto you, That ye love one another; as I have loved you, that ye also love one another.  But this shall all men know that ye are my disciples if ye have love one to another.”

Jesus was deeply emotional.  He felt zeal for the righteousness of God; hope when experiencing the Passover; gladness at His ability to help the disciples believe in the power of God; joy even when He faced crucifixion and death; compassion when He saw the great need of the people; and love for all people–even those who hated Him and refused to believe in His power to save them.

“Love is the central emotion in the mind of Christ.” {p. 150, “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Jesus loved even when those He came to save were nailing Him to a cross, spitting on Him and ridiculing Him.  He loves us when we turn away from Him in offense or fail to love others who treat us with contempt for our belief.  When we treat others the way they treat us, we fail to show the love of Christ and the mind of Christ is not in us.  In order to be like Christ, we must put our feelings for ourselves aside and show compassion for those whose greatest need is Christ even they refuse to acknowledge it.

[Read Luke 7-9]

Luke 7:13 When the Lord saw her, his heart overflowed with compassion. “Don’t cry!’ he said.

Father God,
My emotions get the better of me sometimes and I act wrongly.  Christ was always right n the way He acted, and I also want to do what is right in a positive way.  Teach me when and how to show positive emotions.  Clothe me in righteousness.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

