Jesus’ ‘Negative’ Emotions (June 14, 2013)

Mark 3:5a He looked around at them angrily and was deeply saddened by their hard hearts.

Jesus demonstrated for us how to handle our emotions–even those we are told to avoid or mask such as anger, sorrow, being indignant.  Jesus understood that there are times to be angry, like when the Temple was being used as a house of merchandise, and a time to be compassionate, like when the men brought to Him an adulterous woman.  He knew that when He was distressed and troubled, He needed to pray to His Father.

“Jesus was unquestionably capable of profound and deep human emotion.  He expressed it openly and straightforward.” {p. 147 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

[Read Luke 4-6]

Luke 6:36 “You must be compassionate, just as your Father is compassionate.”

Father God,
I have negative emotions that sometimes are destructive to my relationships with others.  I want to learn from Jesus’ example to express emotions in good ways.  Teach me how to honor You with my emotions.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

