Peacemakers, Persecuted for Righteousness (June 11, 2013)

Peacemakers

“Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.” Matthew 5:9

“God reveals His wholeness to the world and restores wholeness among His people.” {p. 249 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“} He shows the unity of the Trinity (Father, Son, Spirit).  Peacemakers carry out the ministry of reconciliation in the church.  My response in worship is to extol and exalt Christ.

Persecuted for Righteousness

“Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake:  for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.” Matthew 5:10

“God allows me to be identified perfectly with Christ in His suffering as God’s servant.” {p. 250 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}  Even though Jesus was perfect, loved all men and did the will of the Father, it was because e wouldn’t bend God’s will that people ridiculed, hated and eventually killed Him.  We should expect nothing less.  Christ told us so.  Being like Christ also means suffering like Him, but we can rejoice and take pleasure in my suffering for the sake of the Kingdom of God.

[Read Mark 10-13]

Mark 11:18 When the leading priests and teachers of religious law heard what Jesus had done, they began planning how to kill him.  But they were afraid of him because the people were so amazed at his teaching.

Father God,
The world often condemns those who serve You.  Some have been persecuted for claiming Your name.  I ask You to judge such actions with your righteous justice.   Strife is all around me.  Help me to be the peacemaker You want me to be.  Help me carry out faithfully the ministry of reconciliation You have given me.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

