Two Halves of a Whole, Part 2 (June 8, 2013)

Mark 1:29-31 Jesus replied, “The most important commandment is this: ‘Listen, O Israel! The Lord our God is the one and only Lord. And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, all your mind, and all your strength.’ The second is equally important: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ No other commandment is greater than these.”

The focus of the first four Beatitudes is on God. The focus of the second four is on others. “This order follows the order the two greatest commandments.” {p. 132 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

With the first four Beatitudes, God changes our heart.  He uses the circumstances in our life as opportunities to work in and through us.  He develops our character on the inside so that we can express His glory to others through the outworking of the second four Beatitudes.

[Read Mark 1-3]

Mark 3:5 He looked around at them angrily and was deeply saddened by their hard hearts.  Then he said to the man, “Hold out your hand.” So the man held out his hand, and it was restored!

Father God,
Christ experienced great suffering for great purposes.  I would prefer an easy road.  Please help me be willing to experience the trials of life as You develop those qualities in my life.  I want to be “perfect and entire, wanting nothing.” Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

