Characteristics of a Servant Mind (June 5, 2013)

2 Timothy 2:24 A servant of the Lord must not quarrel but must be kind to everyone, be able to teach, and be patient with difficult people.

Gentle

“Gentleness frees God to strengthen you.” {p. 122 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Being gentle with others is a demonstration of respect and means you show kindness to others in all circumstances.

Able to Teach

“Being able to teach frees God to establish divine authority.” {p. 122 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

We should be able to teach others the Master’s work and be able to make a defense for our belief.

Patient

“Patience frees God to answer prayer in His way and in His time.” {p. 123 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Being patient means waiting upon the Lord to provide the best possible answer.

Meek

2 Timothy 2:25 Gently instruct those who oppose the truth.  Perhaps God will change those people’s hearts, and they will learn the truth.

“Meekness frees God to guide you.” {p. 124 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Being meek means we have a disciplined sensitivity tot he Master and allow Him to guide us.

Good

Matthew 25:21a “The Master was full of praise ‘Well done my good and faithful servant.'”

“Goodness frees God to produce fruit in you.” {p. 124 “The Mind of  Christ Workbook“}

Being good means that we are the servants God redeemed us to be.  A good servant trusts in God’s plan.

Wise

Matthew 7:24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock.”

“Wisdom frees God to invest you with authority.” {p. 125 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Being wise means we depend on God and trust in His plan enough that we use good judgment and keen discernment.

[Read Matthew 20-22]

Matthew 20:28 “For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

The following prayer is adapted from the prayer on page 125 of “The Mind of Christ Workbook

Father God,
Thank you that the qualities of a servanthood are attainable and within my grasp.  Being a servant goes against the grain of everything taught in my culture.  You teach that I am at my greatest when I stoop to serve.  Your Word often sounds strange by worldly standards.  I am conscious of the great distance between what I am and what Jesus lived out on Earth.  Make me like Him, no matter what I have to do.  In Jesus’ Name, Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

