Characteristics of a Servant Mind Part 1 (June 3, 2013)

Humble

Isaiah 57:15a The high and lofty one who lives in eternity, the Holy One, says this: “I live in the high and holy place with those whose spirits are contrite and humble.”

“Humility frees God to manifest Himself.” {p. 115 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Obedient

1 Samuel 15:22 “To obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed than the fat of rams.”

“Obedience frees God to act in mighty ways.” {p. 116 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Willing

Ephesians 6:7 “Work with enthusiasm, as though you were working for the Lord rather than for people.”

“Your willingness frees God to reward divinely.” {p 117 “The Mind of  Christ Workbook“}

We cannot be called servants of God if we aren’t humble, obedient and willing.  We do not serve for recognition, but to show the glory of God.  We are to be obedient to God even when our flesh cries out.  And we are to do God’s will wholeheartedly.

[Read Matthew 13-16]

Matthew 16:25 “If you try to hand on to your life, you will lose it.  But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.”

Father God,
I am willing to obey and follow You.  Remove any pride that is getting in the way of my faithful service to You and to others.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

