The Servant Mind: Christ’s Servanthood (May 31, 2013)

Philippians 2:7 Jesus “made himself of no reputation and took upon him the form of a servant”.

“Lifelong Objective:  In Christ you will take on the form of a servant and serve God and others with the heart and mind of a servant.” {p. 108 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Our flesh says everything is about us and our needs.  We want to be served.  We want to be first in line, sit in the best seats, and receive the best gifts.  But Christ came to serve.  In order to have the mind of Christ, we must also learn to serve others with joy and a desire to serve–not just going through the motions of obedience.  Joyless or resentful service is not being obedient and is never how Jesus served.

[Read Matthew 4-6]

Matthew 6:20 “Store your treasures in heaven, where moths and rust cannot destroy, and thieves do not break in and steal.”

Father God,
Develop in me a servant mind, a willingness and earnest desire to serve others.  Mold me into the image of Your Son, Jesus, who is the perfect example of servanthood.  Thank You for the privilege of serving in Your Kingdom.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

