Meekness and Temperance (May 30, 2013)

Meekness

Matthew 11:29 “Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.”

“You can show meekness by disengaging the trappings of worldly power from your mind.” {p. 239 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Sometimes we view meekness as being weak, but meekness occurs when we accept God’s dealings with us without resistance.  It doesn’t make us weak to be obedient to God or submit to His discipline.

Temperance

Romans 6:12 “Let not sin therefore reign in your mortal body, that ye should obey it in the lusts thereof.”

“You can show temperance by accepting and applying the Holy Spirit’s guidance as you master your desires and sensual appetites.” {p. 239 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Our human appetites can lead us astray.  We must allow the Holy Spirit to work in our lives and guide us away from those things that lead us away from God’s will.

[Read Matthew 1-3]

Matthew 3:10 “Even now the ax of God’s judgment is poised, ready to sever the roots of the trees.  Yes, every tree that does not produce good fruit will be chopped down and thrown into the fire.”

Father God,
You are the gardener and Jesus is the True Vine.  Help me to abide in Christ more.  Prune away things and activities in my life so I can be most fruitful.  Holy Spirit, please bear your fruit through me.  Do whatever is necessary in me so that my life will bear the fruit of the Spirit on every occasion.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

