Goodness and Faith (May 29, 2013)

Goodness

Romans 15:14 “I myself also am persuaded of you, my brethren, that ye also are full of goodness, filled with all knowledge, able also to admonish one another.”

“The greatest temptation is to think that goodness comes from ourselves rather than from God.” {p. 237 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

The only measurement of what is good comes from God.  We often think that someone can be good by doing moral and upright things; however, if we aren’t producing the fruits of the Spirit, our spiritual nature is depraved.

Faith

Proverbs 28:20 “A faithful man shall abound with blessings: but he that maketh haste to be rich shall not be innocent.”

“You can show faithfulness by obeying God’s commands and completing work He assigns to you.” {p. 238 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

  • Obey what you know God has commanded
  • Be a faithful steward of what God has given you
  • When God asks you to do something, persevere until the job is complete or God gives you another assignment

We tend to be faithful until we meet a roadblock and then we want to give up.  These roadblocks may be a lesson in faithfulness if we pay attention and listen.

[Read John 19-21]

John 19:28-30 Jesus knew that his mission was now finished, and to fulfill Scripture he said, “I am thirsty.” A jar of sour wine was sitting there, so they soaked a sponge in it, put it on a hyssop branch, and held it up to his lips.  When Jesus had tasted it, he said, “It is finished!” Then he bowed his head and released his spirit.

Father God,
Wash away the things in my mind and my life that are not good and those things that are faithless.  Complete Your good work in me and show goodness and faith in my life.  Feed me on the riches of Your Truth.  Quench my thirst for fellowship with You. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

