Long-Suffering and Gentleness (May 28, 2013)

Long-Suffering

1 Thessalonians 5:14 “Now we exhort you, brethren, warn them that are unruly, comfort the feeble minded, support the weak, be patient toward all men.”

“To suffer ‘long’ you must not place limits on your willingness to endure.  If you ever limit your willingness, the enemy knows and he will test those limits.” {p. 236 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

I have met a few people who exhibited patience and they have a calmness and peace about them.  When we are patient with others, we demonstrate our love, as well as God’s love, for them.  We show we value them and do not treat them as an inconvenience.

Gentleness

Psalm 117:2 “For his merciful kindness is great toward us: and the truth of the Lord endureth forever. Praise ye the Lord.”

“What is inside your mind and heart will show on the outside in your actions.” {p. 236 “The Mind of  Christ Workbook“}

When you don’t act kindly toward others, something is wrong in your mind and heart.  When you are aware of any unkind or harsh behavior, you should ask God to examine your heart and mind, show you the problem and tell you how to fix it.

[Read John 16-18]

John 16:24 “You haven’t done this before.  Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.”

Father God,
Giver of all life, thank You.  Thank You for being gentle and long-suffering with me when I don’t measure up to Your standards.  Continue Your life in me that I may be gentle and long-suffering toward others. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

