Pure (May 21, 2013)

1 John 3:2-3 “Dear friends, we are already God’s children, but he has not yet shown us what we will be like when Christ appears.  But we do know that we will be like him, for we will see him as he really is.  And all who have this eager expectation will keep themselves pure, just as he is pure.”

Impurity strikes Christians in two main areas:  lust for the forbidden and lust for power.  Temptations come through what we see and hear on television, movies, music, newspapers and what we talk about with others.

“We can become pure by constantly practicing the presence of God.” {p. 227 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

We need to acknowledge that God is always present and watching us.  Be discerning about what we feed our minds through television, the Internet, music; identify the problem areas that may lead to impurity and avoid them whenever possible; and, most importantly, we need to think about, watch, read and do those things that are pure.

[Read Luke 19-21]

Luke 21:34 “Watch out! Don’t let your hearts be dulled by carousing and drunkenness, and by the worries of this life.  Don’t let that day catch you unaware.”

Father God,
Make me more aware of Your presence moment by moment. I want to be pure like Christ.  He is the refiner and purifier.  Refine and purify me so I can be like Christ.  Burn away anything in my life that is impure.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

