Ambitions, Duties, Debts and Possessions (May 16, 2013)

Ambitions:

“God’s desire is to move your ambitions from honoring self to honoring God.” {p. 60 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

This is tough.  The world promises fame, glory, honor and wealth if you look a certain way, get a higher education, believe the world’s view; however, most of these ambitions don’t honor or bring glory to God.  We need to be extra careful and very discerning in this area.  The world lies.  It wants us to believe life on earth is all there is and we should live our lives for self.

Duties:

“God’s desire is to move your duties from compulsion to eternity.” {p. 61 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Sometimes I take on responsibilities that aren’t mine.  I agree to do things that God has not given me to do because I want to help out or I feel an obligation.  It is important to pray before taking on a duty in order to find out if God has created that responsibility for me.

Debts:

“God’s desire is to move your debts from the temporal to the eternal.” {p. 62 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

God is the only One to whom we should be indebted.  We should do things for others without the expectation of repayment.  We show our gratitude to God by our willingness to do His work.

Possessions:

“God’s desire is to move your possessions from ownership to stewardship.” {p. 62 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

We should not be ruled by our possessions.  We are to master them, not vice versa.  Our possessions have no power to get us into Heaven.

Developing a healthy attitude toward your ambitions, duties, debts and possessions will free you to:

  • Put God first
  • Minister to the Body of Christ
  • Learn new and deeper lessons on Christlikeness

[Read Luke 4-6]

Luke 4:3-4 Then the devil said to him, “If you are the Son of God, tell this stone to become a loaf of bread.”  But Jesus told him, “No! The Scriptures say, ‘People do not live by bread alone.'”

Father God,
Help me discern the areas I need to change.  Do whatever is necessary to help renew my mind in these areas.  Please set me free from the things that keep me from being Christlike. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

