One Great Passion (May 12, 2013)

“Jesus had an ordered mind focused on His one great passion of doing the will of His Father.” {p. 47 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Jesus didn’t have conflicting desires because His one passion was being obedient to God’s will.  We, on the other hand, are human, and as such we are caught in a dilemma.  We want what we want and sometimes that doesn’t coincide with God’s will for our lives.  We are unable to master our mind without the power of the Holy Spirit–by His grace.  Real change will not come unless we allow God to do whatever is necessary to effect change regardless of the cost.

How can you live in a way that indicates you are seeking the Kingdom?

  • Deny self and follow Christ.
  • Memorize Matthew 6:33 and ask God to do what is necessary to help you live that way.
  • Pray seeking God’s guidance and follow it.
  • Ask God how to spend your money.
  • Choose God’s desires rather than your desires.
  • Turn away from temptations and sin and focus on godly living, righteousness and pure thoughts.

[Read Mark 7-9]

Mark 8:34 Then, calling the crowd to join his disciples, he said, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross, and follow me.”

The following prayer was taken from “The Mind of Christ Workbook”  (page 49):

Father God,
What I need is to get my “wanter” fixed.  In my own strength, I am captive to my own lusts, but I am under grace.  I want Your grace to be at work in my life.  In Jesus’ name, I ask You to fix my “wanter”.  I will not quarrel with any procedure You know is necessary.  I will accept the fact that You really do want me to be like Jesus regardless of the cost.  Because that is what You want, that is what I want.  Make me like Jesus–whatever it takes.  Amen.

 

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

