A Disordered Mind (May 8, 2013)

“From whence come wars and fightings among you? come they not hence, even of your lusts that war in your members?” James 4:1

“The mind of Christ was not disordered but ordered.  He controlled His thinking in such a way that only godly actions came through His life.  This is one reason you and I need the mind of Christ.”  {p. 36 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Our thoughts often lead to actions.  When we focus on the wrong things, our actions will lead us to sin.  If we focus on godly things, our actions will lead us to do good things.  Sometimes, as James observes, the good thoughts mix with wrong thoughts causing our minds to be disordered which leads to confused actions.  We have to set our will to think godly thoughts and not allow our minds to stray.

[Read Matthew 23-25]

Matthew 23:28  “Outwardly you look like righteous people, but inwardly your hearts are filled with hypocrisy and lawlessness.”

Father God,
Help me see how my desires conflict with Your desires.  Begin doing the work You need to do in me to set me free from the effects of a disordered mind.  Give me the desire to have the mind of Christ.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Disordered Mind (May 8, 2013)

  1. lloyd rewa says:

    I thank God for the gift of Jesus Christ He has changed my life

Leave a Reply

