Experiencing Freedom in Christ (May 7, 2013)

“Lifelong Objective:  In Christ you will live in peace with freedom from the control of sin.  As you seek first His kingdom, you will develop Christ’s desires as Your desires.” {p. 32 “The Mind of Christ Workbook“}

Memory Verse:
“Seek ye first the Kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matthew 6:33)

What attitudes or thought patterns are holding you in bondage to sin?  Or, which ones are self-seeking rather than kingdom-seeking?  The world teaches that we are here to promote ourselves and to seek our own happiness, but the Scriptures tell us we have a higher purpose.  We are here to serve God.  We can’t do that if we are holding on to selfishness, pride or any other sin.  Evaluate what you do and why you are doing it.  If it has no eternal value, figure out why it is necessary for you to do it.

[Read Matthew 20-22]

Matthew 20:26-28 “But among you it will be different.  Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant, and whoever wants to be first among you must become your slave.  For even the Son of Man came not to be served but to serve others and to give his life as a ransom for many.”

Father God,
I say I want to be obedient and follow you–that’s the easy part.  But the flesh is weak and often my thoughts and actions don’t line up with my words.  Thank You for Your grace and mercy.  You have provided a way to absolute freedom from the bondage of sin.  I no longer want control.  I ask that the Holy Spirit remove anything evil that has become rooted in my thinking.  Remove my own fleshly ways of trying to please You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

