Developing the Mind of Christ (May 5, 2013)

“Set your mind on the things above, not on the things that are on earth.” Colossians 3:2

Three Stages in Developing the Mind of Christ:
(from pp. 23-25 “The Mind of Christ Workbook”)

  1. Beginning Stage–The Will Principle–Set your mind on things above.  You must decide, choose or determine the focus of your mind.
  2. Growing Stage–The River Principle–Allow God to renew your mind.  You must continue to allow your mind to be transformed by a renewing process–a time of growth.
  3. Qualified Stage–The Readiness Principle–Gird up your mind for action.  Your mind is prepared for action.  Be alert and ready.

[Read Matthew 13-16]

Matthew 14:31 Jesus immediately reached out and grabbed him, “You have so little faith,” Jesus said. “Why did you doubt me?”

In order to develop the mind of Christ, we must also have faith.  With Christ living in us, there is nothing (within the will of God) that we cannot do.  If God gives us a task, He will also give us the ability to do it.  All that is required of us is faith and obedience.

Father God,
Give me focused attention to things above.   I offer my will to You and seek Your will as I begin my journey of developing the mind of Christ.  Please guide me through the process where Your life becomes my life and where Your righteousness becomes my righteousness.  Help me set my mind and heart on You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, The Mind of Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

