What God has taught me so far….

On January 1, 2013, I began a journey to deepen my relationship with God and started an intentional plan to study the Bible and allow God to lead me down the path He wanted me to take during our time together.

My reason for being intentional was more selfish than anything else.  I was struggling with being obedient to God–sometimes it’s been because I was uncertain of what He was asking me to do so I did what I wanted to do.  Other times it was just because I didn’t want to go there.  The heart wants what the heart wants.  But, at the end of 2012, God asked me to do something I didn’t want to do.  For the past year or so, I had been praying for something–I was persistent but I wasn’t listening until one day, I heard God say “NO!”  And not only did He say no, He also told me to stop asking.  He said I could do what I wanted to do and be out of His Will, or I could be obedient and receive a blessing.

This was very difficult to accept.  I decided to make every effort to be more intentional during our time together.  For the first three months of 2013, I read through the Bible from Genesis to Revelation and blogged about what God was telling me. During the month of April, I blogged through “The 10-Second Rule” by Clare De Graaf in which the author teaches that we should do the next thing that we feel Jesus is asking us to do within the next 10 seconds.  This is harder than it sounds but is very rewarding when you follow through.

On May 1, I began a study of T.W. Hunt’s and Claude King’s “The Mind of Christ”.  I chose this study because having previously participated in this study, I knew that it would set me on a course of becoming more like Christ who knows how to be obedient.

I have also been praying for something else and, although God has not said no, He has said no for right now.  And, I’m totally humbled.  Yes, I could go against God and do what I want to, but it would mean I would sever the relationship.

I made a commitment at the beginning of the year to do something intentional for my relationship with God.  And God has indeed blessed me.  God continues to amaze me.  It hit me yesterday morning that I am excited about my morning visits with God.  I go to bed looking forward to getting up in the morning because I get to see God.  I wake up in the middle of the night wishing it was time to get up.  Then, after my time with God comes to an end (out of necessity), I find myself disappointed that it’s over and wishing that I could linger an hour longer.

I am sharing this in my blog because I want you to experience the same thing.  You can start by reading the Scriptures and allowing God to speak to you through His Word.  Pry into His Heart.  Let Him show you what His desires are for you.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

