The School of Jesus (April 27, 2013)

“The goal of our lives should be nothing less than becoming so familiar with the ‘mind of Christ’ that we could write Jesus’ speeches.” {p. 148 “The 10 Second Rule”}

Although reading the Bible, prayer and service are important in the daily life of a Believer, following Christ is more than becoming knowledgeable about Scripture, praying every day and helping others.  We need to walk Jesus’ path which includes dying to self, putting the needs of others before our own, loving the unlovable, trusting in God’s plan and even pain and suffering.  Following Christ isn’t easy.  We will often fail because we are human, but God’s grace and mercy will be there when we fall.

[Read Luke 22]

Luke 22:26 “But among you it will be different.  Those who are the greatest among you should take the lowest rank, and the leader should be like a servant.”

When we choose to adopt the “mind of Christ”, we must also adopt the mind of a servant.  We are called, even in leadership, to serve others whether we want to or not, and whether we are serving people we like or not.

Father God,
Believing in You is easy for me.  I’ve seen Your hand in my life.  Serving is different.  I want to serve, but then you send someone who tests my patience, or someone whose personality clashes with mine.  Help me serve those I love and love those I serve. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Service, Serving God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

