Beware of Sensible Faith (April 26, 2013)

Sensible Faith– “A faith that does not compel you to occasionally risk personal loss or appear foolish to your friends isn’t Christian faith at all.” {p.141 “The 10-Second Rule“}

In order for faith to change us we have to risk losing everything–our security, our pride, ourselves.  We are all seeking something from God only faith will bring us.  Some will find it.  Others will see the cost and come to the conclusion they didn’t want it anyway.

It’s easy to have sensible faith–just enough to get us some “feel good” moments.  We just practice faith right up until it brings us to the moment of personal loss.  It’s more difficult to push off with both feet knowing that if we fall only God will be there to catch us and our friends will be there to say I told you so.

Some of the people God will ask you to help will cheat you, humiliate you and never look back.  They will greedily take what you give them but never take the time to say thank you.  But don’t you treat God the same way sometimes?  Remember, everything we go through on Earth is potentially a lesson we need to learn.

[Read Luke 21]

Luke 21:1-4 While Jesus was in the Temple, he watched the rich people dropping their gifts into the collection box.  Then a poor widow came by and dropped in two small coins. “I tell you the truth,” Jesus said, “this poor widow has given more than all the rest of them.  For they have given a tiny part of their surplus, but she, poor as she is, has given everything she has.”

If any of her friends knew she was going to give everything she had, they might have given the poor widow reasons why she wasn’t being sensible.  But Jesus’ reaction to her faithfulness and generosity was well worth it.  This story was included in the Scriptures as an example of obedience and faith.

Father God,
I want a faith that moves mountains.  I want a faith that shows others what You can do through me.  Sensible faith is all about me.  I want my faith to be all about You.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beware of Sensible Faith (April 26, 2013)

  1. mercy okorie says:

    Good one very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

