Measured Mercy (April 24, 2013)

“However, followers of Jesus ought to be wary of showing measured mercy — mercy that’s portioned out only as time or convenience allows.  We call that volunteering…(not) spontaneous obedience.” {p.120 “The 10 Second Rule“}

Sometimes your only reward is doing the right thing.  You won’t get a pat on the back or even so much as a thank you and no one will know what you did.  You will be used, taken advantage of and  humiliated, but God has called you to give and/or serve.

Sometimes God will put someone in our path when it’s least convenient.  Sometimes they will be rude, ungrateful and stubborn.  But take a look at yourself–when God blesses you, are you always dripping with gratitude?  Or, do you sometimes complain that it’s not enough or not what you asked for?  God often uses people and circumstances to show us something about our own hearts.

[Read Luke 19]

Luke 19:9-10 Jesus responded, “Salvation has come to this home today, for this man has shown himself to be a true son of Abraham.  For the Son of Man came to seek and save those who are lost.”

Jesus came for the lost.  Many of those were callous and ugly and became beautiful servants of God because Jesus touched them.  We have no idea where our actions will lead someone else.  That is why we should give our best and obey God immediately when He leads us to serve someone else.

Father God,
I don’t get to pick and choose who I will help.  Help me to always be prepared to give my best.  Thank You for all those who invested in my life.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

