Serving the Undeserving (April 22, 2013)

“Loving your neighbors means being kind and gracious to people you may not like–until you do. Maybe.” {p. 114, “The 10 Second Rule“}

God won’t always pick out lovable people for us to serve.  He may, in fact, choose people who will test the limits of our patience and generosity.  The very people who may need Christ the most are the ones who lack kindness and gratitude towards others.  No matter what the reasons are for the way they are, we are to show the same love towards them that Christ would.

[Read Luke 17]

Luke 17:17-18 Jesus asked, “Didn’t I heal ten men? Where are the other nine? Has no one returned to give glory to God except this foreigner?”

The fact is that no one we help may express appreciation either because they don’t know how or they are just rude, but we help them anyway.  They may also mock us, hate us or get angry with us.  God will take care of us.  We are not to judge them or use them as a reason to quit helping others.

Father God,
Some people will be difficult, even impossible, to  help.  They will test us, shame us and judge us. Thank You for loving them through me and giving me wisdom to handle the situations You bring to me.  Give me hope through these experiences.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

