The Discipline of the Rule (April 20, 2013)

“Even when you fail to follow the Rule at first, the discipline of the Rule causes you to ask important questions. ‘Why didn’t I handle that better, or act immediately?’ You’ll learn something about yourself and about the subtle nature of procrastination: it is really just another form of self-deception.” {p.106 “The 10 Second Rule”}

One thing about being human is that we fail sometimes.  But we learn from failure.  Hopefully, we look at the situation, see where we went wrong, and make a decision to do it differently the next time.  Failure has the possibility to deceive us into thinking we are unworthy or losers–that we will never be able to do anything right.  However, if we practice the pre-decision process, we will find that failure occurs less often.

[Read Luke 15]

Luke 15:7 “In the same way, there is more joy in heaven over one lost sinner who repents and returns to God than over ninety-nine others who are righteous and haven’t strayed away!”

Father God,
Don’t allow me to give in to the lie that one failure means that I will keep failing.  When I fail, show me the steps I need tot take to do it better the next time. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

