Personal Holiness (April 19, 2013)

“Spend an hour or two alone with God, seek his guidance, and then make a mental list, strictly between God and yourself, of the things you’ll never do, or never do again.” {p. 96 “The 10 Second Rule“}

We like to hold onto our pet sins primarily because we enjoy them and can find a reason or two to justify it, but just because we can justify it doesn’t mean God will ever approve of it.  Being holy means we have set ourselves apart for God.  We can’t be holy if we are still clinging to the things of this world.

Take some time this week to make a list of things you’ll never do or never do again and make a commitment to God to set yourself apart from the world.

[Read Luke 14]

Luke 14:35 “Flavorless salt is good neither for the soil nor for the manure pile.  It is thrown away.   Anyone with ears to hear should listen and understand!”

In order to be useful in God’s Kingdom, we must choose to become like Christ and live holy lives as an example to those around us.

Father God,
This world holds many temptations, but we are told to avoid them for your sake.  As I make my list of things never to do, give me wisdom as well as the ability to toss them aside so I can be a better witness for You. Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Personal Holiness (April 19, 2013)

  1. Jill, I love your 90 Day Journey and I’m honored you’ve found quotes and ideas from “my book” helpful. If every would-be follower of Jesus took obedience this seriously the world would be changed.

Leave a Reply

