Developing Trust (April 15, 2013)

“There are many things we might fear when our faith is being tested, and one of them, for sure, is this:  If we put our full weight on God, and our attempt fails, will it lay bare our doubts that have always lingered at the fringes of our hearts?” {pp.78-79, “The 10 Second Rule“}

Any time we place our trust in someone other than ourselves, we will encounter some doubts.  Trust is developed over time.  But when we put our faith in God, and we attempt to do something we believe He has called us to do and we fail, how do we respond?

Do we question what we did?  Do we question what we heard?  Do we question God?  Do we wonder what is the purpose?  More importantly, the next time we believe God is calling us to do something, will we have enough faith to do it?

I am still wrestling with that last question.  In the past, I have followed what I believed God called me to do and failed–twice.  Now, every time I feel God’s leading, I hesitate.  I contemplate.  I seek all sorts of confirmation which could lead to faith failure.

[Read Luke 10:21-42]

Luke 10:21  At that time Jesus was filled with the joy of the Holy Spirit, and he said, “O Father, Lord of heaven and earth, thank you for hiding these things from those who think themselves wise and clever, and for revealing them to the childlike.  Yes, Father, it pleased you to do it this way.”

The faith of a child is a marvelous thing.  No wonder God desires a similar faith from us.  It is the simple understanding and trust that God has our best interest at heart.

Father God,
Trust is such a fragile thing so we must develop it daily.  When it comes to having faith in you, give me the faith of a child. When I believe you’ve given me a task, help me not procrastinate.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Obedience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

