Small Beginnings (April 14, 2013)

“Theologically, I believed that God could do anything. But would he?  I believed it–but I hadn’t yet put it to the test.” {p.74 “The 10  Second  Rule“}

God understands that we have doubts, but He still expects us to take Him at His word because the Bible is filled with proof of  His faithfulness.  He doesn’t start off asking us to believe Him in big things.  He allows us to start small and build our faith with baby steps.  Every day we are given opportunities to build our faith.  God doesn’t want us sitting on the sidelines watching others.  We’ve got to take some leaps.

[Read Luke 10:1-20]

Luke 10: 17, 20 When the seventy-two disciples returned, they joyfully reported to him, “Lord, even the demons obey us when we use your name!” But don’t rejoice because evil spirits obey you; rejoice because your names are registered in heaven.

The seventy-two disciples were amazed because they were able to do something unheard of–casting out demons using Jesus’ name.  I am often amazed at what I can do when I call upon God’s strength.  But Jesus reminds them and us that it’s not about what we do–it is about whose we are.

Father God,
I am confident that my name is registered in heaven.  Stepping out in faith is sometimes hard but necessary if I am to grow in my spiritual journey.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

