God’s Secret (April 12, 2013)

“Through our simple, faithful obedience, combined with the obedience of our spiritual family members all over the world, he’s putting together a puzzle that he alone sees in its entirety, piece by piece.”  {p.63 “The 10 Second Rule”}

God doesn’t do random things.  He has a plan.  Sometimes He may have to revise the plan He has for us because of our disobedience.  It is so important that we obey immediately.

We complain about God taking too long to do a work in our lives.  What if it’s taking so long because someone else is hesitant about obeying His call.   Worse, what if we cause someone else undue stress because we won’t just do what God tells us to do?

[Read Luke 9:1-27]

Luke 9:23-24 Then he said to the crowd, “If any of you wants to be my follower, you must turn from your selfish ways, take up your cross daily, and follow me.  If you try to hang on to your life, you will lose it.  But if you give up your life for my sake, you will save it.

In Luke 9:23, Jesus gives three conditions to being His follower:

1.  Turn from your selfish ways.  Think of others before you consider yourself.

2.  Take up your cross daily.  Don’t hand your troubles off to someone else.  Deal with your own stuff.

3.  Follow Him.  Do what Jesus is doing.  Be kind.  Show compassion.  Help someone up.  Do the next thing you are reasonably sure Jesus wants you to do in the next 10 seconds.

Father God,
It’s hard to follow You while holding on to  my selfish desires and trying to pass off my cross to someone else. Training myself to put others first is a process.  Sometimes I succeed.  Other times I fail.  I want to leave my cross at home sometimes, but You have called me to pick it up daily.  I don’t always understand the whys or even the hows, but I desire to be obedient nonetheless.  Help me.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

