My Obedience Matters (April 11, 2013)

“We can live out the Rule locally — in front of the people we live with and meet every day, consistently enough to change the world around us.”  {p. 59 ‘The 10 Second Rule’}

If we could see ourselves the way God sees us, maybe we wouldn’t be so afraid to do what He asks us to do.  In our eyes, we may be inept, uncoordinated, timid, unable to speak, incapable, unworthy, or unattractive.  But to God, we are the beautiful creatures He created and are gifted to do all of the things He has called us to do.  We aren’t perfect, but we are loved by God.

Obedience to the simple chores God has given us doesn’t save us.  It doesn’t earn our way into Heaven.  What obedience does is make a difference in the world around us.  It fulfills us.  It helps us feel God’s smile.  It’s safe to say our obedience won’t be perfect every time, but God can see our hearts and redeem our efforts.

[Read Luke 8:26-56]

Luke 8:38-39 The man who had been freed from the demons begged to go with him. But Jesus sent him home, saying, “No, go back to your family, and tell them everything God has done for you.” So he went all through the town proclaiming the great things Jesus had done for him.

Sometimes obedience isn’t selling everything we own and going to a far-off place to share the message of Christ.  Sometimes it means sharing the Good News with those around us and being a light in the darkness of your community.

Father God,
You’ve made obedience simple, but I’ve made it difficult by creating steps to take before I get there.  At times, I am more concerned about my reputation with others than obedience to You.  May the joy of obedience give me perspective.  Help me shine my light locally.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ, Obedience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

