A Sign from God (April 10, 2013)

“Have you been waiting for a sign from God you really hope never comes before getting serious about following him, or have you been playing it safe, taking your cues from your friends rather than Christ?” {p. 51 “The 10 Second Rule”}

Asking for a sign from God is living by sight not faith.  Imagine God’s reaction each time He hears one of His followers ask for a sign.  Do you think He is pleased?  Or, do you imagine He rolls His eyes, shrugs His shoulders and sighs deep and heavy?  What would you do if, after making a request to God, He said, “First, give me a sign this is really what you want.”  Hmmmm.

[Read Luke 8:1-25]

Luke 8:24-25 The disciples went and woke him up, he rebuked the wind and the raging waves.  Suddenly the storm stopped and all was calm.  Then he asked them, “Where is your faith?”  The disciples were terrified and amazed.  “When he gives a command, even the winds and waves obey him.”

The disciples were in a boat with Jesus who was asleep when the storm came and threatened to kill them.  Didn’t the disciples know that as long as they were with Jesus, they were safe?  Yet, even with the recorded miracles, we have doubts, too.  Where is our faith when Jesus asks us to do something?

Father God,
The Bible is filled with signs.  Spending time with You in Your Word should lead me to a life of faith.  We may make the wrong choice now and again, but Your grace and mercy covers me.  Taking a leap of faith is an exciting experience and one we should take often.  Remove my inhibitions that keep me from jumping into Your will.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

