But, God (April 9, 2013)

“Almost every time a person uses the word but in an ordinary conversation between two people, what the speaker is really saying is this: ‘The importance of what I’m about to tell you is my reason, or excuse, for not taking more seriously what you just told me.” {p. 48. ‘The 10 Second Rule‘}

There are many people in the Bible who, when asked by God to do something, said, “But God”.  Moses and Jonah are the first ones who come to mind.  The world, with its superficiality and emphasis on perfection, offers many excuses not to obey God. BUT there are just as many reasons to obey–first and foremost because God said so.

We, like Jonah, want to overanalyze everything–to see if it’s fair or reasonable before we head out.  We just don’t want to be uncomfortable or, worse, rejected.  God’s requests aren’t always as easy or convenient as we would like them to be.

Try not using the phrase “but God” in response to His request.  Don’t offer an excuse.  God has already provided what you need to do what He’s asked you to do.

[Read Luke 7:36-50]

Luke 7:47 “I tell you, her sins–and they are many–have been forgiven, so she has shown me much love.  But a person who has been forgiven little shows only a little love.”

If we love God, we will show it by our obedience, not our hesitation.

Father God,
Obedience is easy when we are asked to do something we want to do.  It is more difficult when You give us a task we don’t like, or one that asks more than we are willing to do.  Make me willing to do whatever You ask.  Make me open to those tasks that take me out of my comfort zone and into Your will.  Amen.

About Jill Potts Jones

I am a Believer. I believe in God. I believe that Jesus Christ is THE Son of God. I believe that Jesus died so I can have eternal life. I am not ashamed to say that the Lord Jesus Christ is my God and my Savior!
This entry was posted in Following Christ and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

